What position should the Bucs draft with their top pick this year?

This section is for discussing possible future Buccaneers, as well as college football.

What position should the Bucs draft with their first draft pick in 2022?

Running back
No votes
Tight end
No votes
Wide receiver
No votes
Offensive Line
10%
Defensive Lineman or Edge Rusher
80%
Corner
10%
Safety
No votes
Other (comment)
No votes

Total votes: 10

Cheb

What position should the Bucs draft with their top pick this year?

Post by Cheb »

I have been starting to research draft prospects for the 2022 class, possible targets for our first round pick, that sort of thing. And identifying our top need is somewhat nebulous. We have so many free agents next year that I doubt we can resign them all for a second straight year, so we are likely going to have plenty of holes in the roster.

As a refresher, all of the following players are due to be free agents next season:

- Chris Godwin
- Jason Pierre-Paul
- Ryan Jensen
- Kong Suh
- Rob Gronkowski
- Will Gholston
- Leonard Fournette
- Antonio Brown
- OJ Howard
- Ronald Jones
- Richard Sherman
- Gio Bernard
- Carlton Davis
- Alex Cappa
- Jordan Whitehead

Spotrac gives us nearly $34 million in cap space as of today. So basically, say goodbye to two-thirds of the above names, if not more.

So, where would you put our biggest need, assuming the overwhelming majority of those dudes aren't wearing pewter next year?
mdb1958

Re: What position should the Bucs draft with their top pick this year?

Post by mdb1958 »

Out of all those players how many will have a five year extension of their career elsewhere or even three?
mdb1958

Post by mdb1958 »

Knowing Licht he will just load up with aged cattle all over again.
mdb1958

Post by mdb1958 »

Best player to fit our need.
BLT

Post by BLT »

D line then RB for sure
Selmon Rules

Post by Selmon Rules »

In this order:

Someone who hits the other teams QB
Someone who keeps our QB from getting hit